VCTM Committees

Conference Committee

Co-chair: Cathy Shelton
co-chair: daryl corey 

The conference committee is responsible for finding the location of the conference and coordinating local arrangements in planning and implementation of the annual conference.

Program Committee

co-chair: lynn reed 
co-chair: jean mistele 

 The program committee is responsible for developing and implementing all aspects of the conference program including recruiting and selecting speakers.


chair: Ruth harbin-miles

This committee originates and puts into operation plans for securing and retaining the largest possible membership in the Council and coordinates communication with affiliates.


chair: cathy shelton

This committee is chaired by the Past President and recruits members from across the state to fill upcoming slots on the elected Board.

Mathematics Educator of the Year

chair: brenda barrow

This committee identifies qualified candidates who are exemplary math educators in the commonwealth of Virginia for recognition by the Council on an annual basis.

Public Policy

chair: Katelyn devine

This committee facilitates the communication of the Council's policies, positions, and concerns on issues related to mathematics education between governmental agencies, school divisions, affiliate groups, professional organizations, business and industry, the public, and other agencies.


chair: Kyle Schultz

This committee works with Virginia colleges and universities to identify candidates for the Edward A. Anderson scholarship on an annual basis.

Publications Chair

chair: agida Manizade

This committee develops assists the chair in editing and compiling the Journal articles for publication twice a year. Other publications deemed necessary to support the purposes of the Council may also be developed.


chair: pam haner

This committee consists of one affiliate representative from each VCTM affiliate across Virginia.

Professional Development Grant

chair: barbara filler

This committee is responsible for updating the application, recruiting submissions, and selecting an awardee.

First Timer's Grant

chair: nancy taylor

This committee is responsible for updating the application, recruiting submissions, and selecting an awardee.

Flanagan Innovation Grant

chair: lynn reed

This committee is responsible for updating the application, recruiting submissions, and selecting an awardee.

Mathematics Beauty Contest

co-chair: brenda barrow
co-chair: alfreda Jernigan

This committee is responsible for creating or selecting appropriate problems for four grade bands and getting contest information sent to schools, and choosing a winner in each grade band.

Professional Development

co-chair: Vickie Inge
co-Chair: Kathleen Williams

This committee develops and presents workshops or academies to provide professional development to teachers in underserved areas.

Teacher Resource Review

co-chair: betti kreye

The purpose of this committee is to review books, journals, electronic media, etc. for recommendation to the membership. These reviews are submitted to the Journal and may be posted on the website. 

Vendors and Exhibitors

co-chair: reagan davis
co-chair: douglas floyd

This committee works with coordinating companies and/or individuals to hold an exhibit at the annual conference.

PO Box 73593
Richmond, VA 23235

For Comments, Suggestions or Help:
Contact Webmaster at

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software