Log in
Log in

About Us

The Virginia Council of Teachers of Mathematics is a state-wide organization dedicated to stimulating an active interest in mathematics teaching and learning by promoting the improvement of mathematics education, providing leadership in the professional development of teachers, and facilitating cooperation among organizations at the local, state, and national levels.

Contact us with any comments or questions at


VCTM was founded March 18, 1976.  The founding officers were
President: S. Stuart Flanagan, William and Mary
President-Elect:  William Setzer, Roanoke County Schools
Secretary: Linda T. Boxley, Spotsylvania High School
Treasurer: Helen S. Edens, Chesterfield County Schools
NCTM Representative: Burton F. Alexander, Petersburg High School
Membership Dues were originally $5.00 for teachers and $2.50 for students.

Executive Board

Our executive board is comprised of the following elected members:

NCTM Representative
Two Elementary Representatives
Two Middle School Representatives
Two High School Representatives
Math Specialist Representative
Two-Year College Representative
Two Four-Year College Representatives

Click here for our current Executive Board.


Much of the work of our organization is done in committees.  We are always in need of volunteers to serve on or chair committees.  If you are interested, please consider going to your account and volunteering for one or more committees.


Our organization is governed by our adopted constitution.  The constitution was last amended in May 2014.

Virginia Council of Teachers of Mathematics
PO Box 73593
Richmond, VA 23235 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software